New Year Resolution- 2017

I am still highly anxious, I still have ugly days, I’m still a homebody, and I still experience pain’s from every day life…but I don’t do it alone anymore.

So here it is, 10 days into the new year. I’ve decided that I need to be good and actually follow through with my New Year Resolution…at least for a little while. 😉

pos·i·tiv·i·ty
ˌpäzəˈtivədē/
noun
the practice of being or tendency to be positive or optimistic in attitude.

There it is…To be positive…and to be happy doing it. I am going to try my very best to not be negative, not surround myself with negative people or negative situations. I will worry about making myself and my family happy. I will not feed other people’s wants and neglect my own needs.

If you are reading this, you probably know what my name is and you might know a little about me. I honestly doubt anyone will read who doesn’t know me but I will entertain the idea. My name is Kristina Galvan. My childhood sucked so you won’t hear me talk much about that. I was “adopted” (although it isn’t a true legal adoption. More like common-law marriage except I inherited a brand new amazing family) when I was 15 years old. You will see me say “mom #1” or “mom #2” in reference to my “adoptive moms”.  I was a “goodie goodie” back in school as I am now. I was never in trouble and I made pretty good grades. The only “C+” I ever made was in AP Chemistry (AKA, the hell of science). I went to college, got married, fell pregnant. After a devastating miscarriage, 2 beautiful babies (a little girl who we will call LB and a little boy who will call HT), we realized we weren’t happy in our marriage and had not been for a long time, we decided to call it quits. Ugly divorce, but like I said before,  positive only!

Facebook had never really been my way to connect with people…at least not in those days. Ever since  my separation, lots of “men” were in my inbox but nothing that I took seriously. I wasn’t the partying kind of girl or the kind of girl who wanted to sleep with everyone. If I had to self describe myself, I would say that I’m an introvert. I don’t enjoy large crowds, loud noises, I’m highly anxious..not to say I can’t handle certain situations, but I don’t enjoy it. ANYWAYS..back to the point…I got an inbox message from this guy named Rudy Galvan…yes..we have the last name so I’m sure you can see where this is going. It was all friendly, as they usually start off, but this one caught my attention. I had known him for years and years. I had been really close to his sister back in high school so there was already a little “nub of know” there. We didn’t stop talking after that…ever.

He was everything I wasn’t.  He was charismatic, charming, slightly handsome (ok..maybe super hot), etc. etc.  He liked to go out and have fun. Let’s just say this.. our song was “She’s a good-hearted women, in-love with a good-timin’ man” by Willie Nelson. We were total opposites but like magnets. Opposites attract, just like they say. I’m not going to sit here and act like everything was perfect. We both made lots and lots of mistakes, but who doesn’t. We had to adjust to so many new things from inside and outside of our relationship. I’d say, we defeated it like champs. He made me realize things about myself that I never knew. I found myself because he tested me to find myself. I realized that I was worthy and not worthless. I found beauty, confidence and strength beneath any hurt that I had at the time. I am still highly anxious, I still have ugly days, I’m still a homebody, and I still experience pain’s from every day life…but I don’t do it alone anymore.

This is a good time for me to leave you and myself on a cliff…to be continued 🙂

Leave a Reply

